Karnataka chief minister appoints twenty-nine minister, BS Yediyurappa’s son not provided a portfolio in the new cabinet

The constituency elected ministers to represent the OBCs and ST. One woman minister in the cabinet.

Karnataka chief minister appoints twenty-nine minister, BS Yediyurappa's son not provided a portfolio in the new cabinet

The newly-elected chief minister of Karnataka, Basavaraj Bommai, formed his new council. On August 4, twenty-nine legislators took oath in office in the presence of Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot.

The oath-taking ceremony took place in Bengaluru; the cabinet consists of twenty-eight men and one woman minister. 

The Economic Times

The constituency has indicted ministers from Other Backward Classes (OBC), Scheduled Castes (SC), and Scheduled Tribes (ST) for diverse representation.

There are seven ministers from OBC, seven from Vokkaligas, three from SC’s, eight from Lingayat community, one from ST, and one from Reddy. Unlike the former chief minister, BS Yediyurappa’s cabinet, the present cabinet doesn’t have a deputy chief minister.

The former deputy chief ministers, Govind Karjol and CN Ashwath Narayan, have been given other positions in the cabinet.

However, the third deputy chief minister, CM Laxman Savadi, wasn’t provided with a portfolio in the newly formed cabinet. 

MLA Shashikala Jolle was handling the Empowerment of Differently Abled, Women, Child Development and, and Senior Citizens Department, is the only lady minister in the newly formed cabinet of Karnataka.

Members of the previous cabinet, Suresh Kumar, R Shankar, Jagadish Shettar, Arvind Limbavali, Yogeshwar, Shrimant Patil, didn’t get any position in the new cabinet.

Notably, the former chief minister BS Yediyurappa, Bharatiya Janata Party, state president B Y Vijayendra and the son of Yediyurappa, B. Y. Raghavendra, are not on the list of the cabinet.


The newly elected chief minister has followed the previous cabinet and selected around twenty-three ministers from the BS Yediyurappa council.

The cabinet added six new faces, Araga Jnanendra, V Sunil Kumar, Munirathna, Shankar Patil Munenkopp, Halappa Achar, BC Nagesh.

Bommai has also elected ten legislators in the newly formed cabinet that had defected from the Congress- Janata Dal (Secular) alliance to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Deccan Herald

The government will form a cabinet for the welfare of the Scheduled Tribes and the effective implementation of suitable programs for the welfare of the ST community.

Thirteen districts haven’t been provided representation in the cabinet, including Kalaburagi, Mysuru, Kodagu, Ramanagara, Hassan, Raichur, Kolar, Yadgir, Chikkamagaluru, Ballari, and others.

The state’s chief minister said that each minister inducted into the cabinet has been provided with a district. They’ll be reviewing the flood and the Covid-19 situation in the district to provide reviews and remedies. The cabinet will be reconstituting the Covid-19 task force due to the recent surge in the Covid-19 cases in Karnataka. 

There are plans to announce several programs for women’s safety and welfare programs for women. Karnataka Chief Minister stated that he and the newly appointed chief ministers discussed several issues with JP Nadda and the top cadre members, including Union Minister Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 

Deccan Herald

Govind M Karjol is responsible for the Belagavi district, R Ashok will manage the Bengaluru Urban, B Sreeramulu will follow Chitradurga, K S Eshwarappa will be handling the cabinet of Shivamogga.

Umesh Katti will look after Bagalkot, J C Madhuswamy will be following Tumkur district. C N Ashwath Narayan will handle Ramanagara, Anand Singh will be looking towards Ballari and Vijayanagara. 


Also Read:  Twenty four universities functioning in the country are fake, says Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan in Lok Sabha

Exit mobile version