Inform | Inspire | Initiate

The Chaotic Waters of Uttarakhand : Trivendra Singh Rawat Washed Ashore

Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned as CM of Uttarakhand, political instability continues in the region




On Tuesday, Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned as CM of Uttarakhand before a year to go for Assembly elections.

Unaware, Tirath Singh Rawat, in a surprising turn of events to replace the previous CM on Wednesday.

In the short history of Uttarakhand, no chief minister could ever complete his tenure except N D Tiwari who belonged to Congress.
These two decades were engulfed in political instability and Uttarakhand proved to be the center of political chaos.

Since Uttarakhand was carved out of Uttar Pradesh

When Uttarakhand became a separate state on November 9, 2000, BJP leader Nityanand Swami was sworn in to head the interim government. Unfortunately, he was asked to hand over his resignation letter by the Party leaders before he could complete his one year. The only purpose of demanding resignation was to only make way for cabinet colleague Bhagat Singh Koshyari, who is now the Governor of Maharashtra and Goa.
Koshyari had been the frontrunner for the Chief Minister’s post at the time the state came into existence and finally replaced Swami just before four months to assembly elections. This big change was widely seen to have been made under pressure from the party leaders.

The Print

Entry of Congress

Changing the Chief Minister did not help the BJP in the Assembly elections of 2002. The Congress emerged victoriously, and N D Tiwari, a seasoned politician who had been Chief Minister of undivided Uttar Pradesh thrice, was sworn in to lead the government in Dehradun.

Tiwari served his full five-year term until 2007 but faced challenges from various factions within the party organization throughout his tenure


Unfortunately, replacing Chief Minister proved fruitless for BJP in the assembly elections of 2002. The Congress stood victorious and ND Tiwari who was a veteran political leader and had been Minister of undivided Uttar Pradesh thrice was sworn in to lead the government.

Tiwari completed his full five-year term until 2007 but faced challenges from various problems within the party organization throughout his tenure.

Read More

Return of the BJP — Instability

The BJP returned to power in 2007, and Maj Gen BC Khanduri (retd), who had been Minister in Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s Cabinet, was sworn in as Chief Minister. But Khanduri survived in the chair for only a little over two years — in June 2009, a few months before the Kumbh Mela in Haridwar, the party replaced him with Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, who is now India’s Minister for Education.

But Nishank too lasted for just two years and was asked to hand over his resignation letter to Governor in September 2011 and again Gen Khanduri replaced him as Chief Minister of Uttarakhand just five months before the assembly elections.


The comeback of Congress — more instability

The BJP had dreamed that the return of Khanduri would restore the image of its government and the party, and help it jerk anti-incumbency in the Assembly elections.


But everything went against them and they eventually lost the elections
The BJP won 31 seats while Congress won 32, and formed the government with support from the BSP and Independents. Khanduri himself lost the election from Kotdwar; Nishank, however, secured the Doiwala seat in Dehradun.

Congress leader Vijay Bahuguna — who is now in the BJP — became Chief Minister in March 2012, but did not last long in the post. He resigned before two years were out, at the end of January 2014, in the aftermath of the devastating Kedarnath floods of 2013 and thereafter Harish Rawat became the Chief Minister but didn’t last long and after TS Rawat took oath as CM of Uttarakhand but unfortunately BJP asked him to submit his resignation.


Also, read :

Covid19 , Education and the Digital Divide

Read More

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.