Trump Impeached by the house in a historic turn of events.


Photo Credit : economictimes

President Trump was impeached by the House for inciting an uprising against the government, and 10 Republicans joined Democrats in doing so. Senator Mitch McConnell said that he would not comply to use executive powers before Jan. 19 to return the Senate to a trial session.

The Congress was determined to hold Mr. Trump to justice only one week before he was to relinquish power, despite the threat of continued abuse and the defense of thousands of National Guard troops. Trump had supported the rioting crowd, which led to the siege of Capitol Hill and endangered the lives of legislators.

A single article of impeachment was approved by the Assembly, voting 232 to 197 to condemn Mr. Trump of “inciting violence against the United States government” and demanding his automatic suspension from office and ineligibility from ever holding one again.


Photo Credit : NYT

In voting to impeach, ten Republicans joined Democrats: Representatives Liz Cheney of Wyoming, House No. 3 Party leader; Jaime Herrera Beutler of Washington; John Katko of New York; Adam Kinzinger of Illinois; Fred Upton of Michigan; Dan Newhouse of Washington; Peter Meijer of Michigan; Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio; David Valadao of California; and Tom Rice of South Carolina.


The vote set the tone for Mr. Trump’s second Senate trial in a year, but it was not predicted that senators will convene to sit in judgment until Jan 20, when President-elect  Biden would take the oath of office.

The decision by the House was historic. Just two other presidents were impeached; neither were impeached twice or too close to leaving office, by such a large bipartisan gap.


Also Read:

A Capitol Police Officer Has Died Of Injuries From Trump Followers’ Riot

Exit mobile version